Jul 08


spliss cover

This book deals with the strategic policy planning process that underpins the development of successful national elite sport development systems. Drawing on various international competitiveness studies, it examines how nations develop and implement policies that are based on the critical success factors that may lead to competitive advantage in world sport. An international group of researchers joined forces to develop theories, methods and a model on the Sports Policy factors Leading to International Sporting Success (SPLISS). The book presents the results of the large-scale international SPLISS-project. In this project the research team identified, compared and contrasted elite sport policies and strategies in place for the Olympic Games and other events in 15 distinct nations. With input from 58 researchers and 33 policy makers worldwide and the views of over 3000 elite athletes, 1300 high performance coaches and 240 performance directors, this work is the largest benchmarking study of national elite sport policies ever conducted.

The nations taking part in SPLISS are:

  • Americas: Brazil and Canada
  • Asia: Japan and South Korea
  • Europe: Belgium (Flanders & Wallonia), Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, The Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland
  • Oceania: Australia

Veerle De Bosscher is Associate professor of Sport Management in the department of Sport policy and Management and research group Sport and Society, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium.

Simon Shibli is professor of Sport Management in the Sport Industry Research Centre at Sheffield Hallam University, UK.

Hans Westerbeek is professor of Sport Business, and Dean of the College of Sport and Exercise Science, and of the Institute of Sport, Exercise and Active Living (ISEAL) at Victoria University, Australia.

Maarten van Bottenburg is a professor of Sport Management and Sport Policy in the School of Governance of Utrecht University, the Netherlands.


We acknowledge the contribution of the partners involved in the SPLISS-2.0 study, among others (in addition to the authors): Camilla Brockett (Aus), Stephanie De Croock & Jasper Truyens (Be, Fla), Mathieu Winand & Thierry Zintz (Be, Wal), Maria Tereza Silveira Bohme & team (Bra), David Legg & team (Can), Henrik Brandt, Rasmus K. Storm & Lau Tofft (Den), Eerik Hanni (Est), Patrick Mignon & Emanuel Lelore (Fra), Jari Lämsä & Jarmo Mäkinen (Fin), Bake Dijck (Neth), Yoshiyuki Mano & Hiroaki Funahashi & team (Jap), Paul Donnelly (NI), Pedro Guedes De Carvalho & Rui Canelas (Por), Eunha Koh (S-Kor), Anna Vilanova, Eduard Inglés & team (Spa), Hippolyt Kempf,  Marco Stopper & Andreas, Christophe Weber (Swi).

For more information on SPLISS 2.0 please visit or contact Prof. dr. Veerle De Bosscher at

To order please visit or contact us at 

About The Author

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *